Continuing the Search for a Healthcare IT Certification that’s Recognized

Plugging along at a glacial speed in my effort to determine whether or not there is going to be an ANSI accredited certification in the area of Healthcare IT.  I’m sensing CompTIA has lost interest in this idea, with nothing on the ANSI website to indicate that they are applying for accreditation for their HIT-001 exam (see http://tinyurl.com/9czsyky ).  In an attempt to flush out what’s going on I posted the following item on the Health IT Certification for Professionals LinkedIn group’s discussion board today:

Is ANSI Accreditation of a Healthcare IT Related Certification Going to Happen?

By way of introduction I am a professor at a Northern California community college. In search of potential job opportunities for my students, I’ve been looking at the possibility of teaching a class in information technology that relates specifically to healthcare settings. Key to the successful development of such a course is the existence of a recognized certification. I have done some research in the area (you can view my blog at http://tinyurl.com/9tujef5 ). I am reaching a “dead end” in terms of making a determination as to whether a recognized certification exists or is in the process of achieving that goal. Certainly, the sort of “accreditation” as discussed in the following ANSI link would likely fit the definition:
http://tinyurl.com/95sfq42

I guess my question is, does anyone know the status of the ANSI effort?

 

I’ll post if I get any replies. I’m also going to send the link to this blog posting to a guy I know at CompTIA to see if he wants to provide information relating to this question.

Steve

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *